How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Colorado
To enjoy legal protection under the Colorado Medical Marijuana law, you must register with the state patient registry and obtain a Medical Marijuana Card, known as an identification card. The Colorado Medical Marijuana Registry (MMR) is a confidential, statewide program managed by the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE). Although there are guidelines for children, caregivers, and legal guardians, we’ll review the requirements for adults here.
According to the Colorado medical marijuana card laws, who is eligible for an identification card?
You must be 18 years or older and a Colorado resident. You can prove residency with a Colorado driver’s license or ID, and you need a valid Social Security number. Your medical marijuana card is only valid for use in Colorado.
What conditions are approved for medical cannabis treatment?
The law currently defines a qualifying medical condition as:
- Cachexia, or wasting syndrome (severe weight loss caused by a medical condition or its treatment)
- HIV or AIDS
- Persistent muscle spasms
- Severe nausea
- Severe pain
- Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
READY TO BUY MEDICAL MARIJUANA PRODUCTS?
Which medical professionals can write a recommendation for a medical marijuana card in Colorado?
Your physician must meet the following requirements to recommend medical marijuana:
- Must be an MD or a DO (Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine).
- Must be in good standing and licensed to practice in Colorado.
- Must be registered to submit certifications online.
- If you or your physician is not online, they must provide you with a paper copy of your medical marijuana certification.
How do I register for and print a Medical Marijuana Card in Colorado through the online portal?
The first time you go to the registry site, you create an account using your private email address. Choose a password and a username, and click “new patient registration” to fill out a short application if it’s your first time applying or renewing online.
- Step One asks for your personal information
- Step Two addresses your cultivation choice (purchase from a medical marijuana dispensary, grow your own, split growing with a dispensary or caregiver, etc.)
- Step Three pertains to caregiver information, if applicable, and then you sign it. If you’re a parent or legal representative applying for a child, or a legal representative applying for an adult, you fill out the third page.
If you skip any fields by mistake, the online system will bring this to your attention. If you submit a complete application and all your information is correct, you can expect to receive an email notifying you of your approval within 1–3 business days.
You can print your card on regular printer paper. Your card’s issue and expiration dates are based on the day your application is approved.
What is the cost of a medical marijuana card in Colorado?
When you apply online, you pay a $15.00 processing fee and a $1.10 online transaction fee. You can pay this with a credit card or by electronic check using your bank account and routing number. If you apply by paper, you pay the $15.00 processing fee and a $3.30 certified mailing fee. Note that your application can take up to 8 weeks to process if you do it by mail.
An excellent first step in this process is to seek the help of a licensed professional to see if you qualify for a medical marijuana card. In Colorado Springs, the average price for a medical evaluation ranges from $75–$100.
If you’re interested in finding out how much you may be charged for a standard 6 plant count, please contact our friends at Med Eval Clinic or Medical Alternatives Clinic.
Looking for more information about how to obtain a Medical Marijuana Card in Colorado? The registry’s FAQ section has a lot of helpful information.